Reflection: EDTECH-541

   EDTECH – 541

Throughout the duration of this course, I have learned more than I could have ever expected. This was a very challenging class for me. This was my first semester in the EdTech program and I took this class while simultaneously taking EdTech- 501. The different experiences I was subjected to through this course gave me a new found confidence in my ability to keep up with technology. I was able to refine skills that I already had and to add new skills to my pedagogical bag of tricks. I have learned so much about social networking for educational purposes and other collaborative online tools that I plan to integrate into my classroom.I learned to examine the relative advantage of different types of technologies and to choose the one(s) that best meets my students needs, my needs, and our budget.

I feel that I have grown immensely through this class, especially professionally. I loved commenting on posts (for a purpose) and collaborating with my classmates to broaden my thinking. Before this class, I experienced very little of this. I have always used the internet to supplement my classroom lessons but in a very basic way – such as researching articles etc… I feel that now I will be able to introduce my students to interactive online tools that they will get excited about. I also fell more comfortable collaborating with my peers and sharing ideas about technologically based lessons. I am no longer terrified of the unknown because this class has taught me that if you play around with technology long enough, you’ll stumble across something magnificent.

This course was very structured and every assignment adhered to the AECT Standards in one way or another.

Standard 1 is the Design standard – this standard is met every time we prep for a lesson or project. Standard 2 is the Development standard which we implement every time we incorporate different technologies into our message. Standard 3 is the Utilization standard that is referenced in every project we done. This standard is met anytime you implement instructional strategies in a real setting. Standard 4 is the Management standard which we met when planning, monitoring and controlling different activities. And finally, standard 5 is the Evaluation standard which is one of the most critical steps in education and we used in every assignment during this course. I will continue to try to implement many of these standards and strategies into my everyday lessons. I feel that this course has helped me reach the next step in furthering my education.

Leave a comment